SRC releases Rasa nominees’ achievements


Samson Muripo

Samson Muripo

Sikhumbuzo Moyo, Senior Sports Reporter
THE Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC) has released a list of achievements for Zimbabwean nominees for the Regional Annual Sports Awards (Rasa), whose winners will be unveiled on Friday next week in Johannesburg.

Zimbabwe’s reigning Sportsperson of the Year, karateka Samson Muripo headlines the country’s list of nominees.

Other Zimbabwean nominees are Helen Sinclair Costa (bodybuilding) the Sportswoman of the Year, Tanyaradzwa Muzinda  (motorcross), the Junior Sportswoman of the Year, Margaret Bangajena (wheelchair racing), current Sportswoman with a Disability), and Elford Moyo (wheelchair racing), the Sportsman of the Year with a Disability.

According to the achievements list, Muripo won gold, silver and a bronze medal at the So-Kyokushin Karate Tournament in Ahvaz, Iran, in April 2017.
Bodybuilder Costa took gold at the Zimbabwe bodybuilding and fitness championships as well as the Africa Arnold Classic held in South Africa.

Bangajena has numerous achievements in the year under review; winning silver at the George Outenigua Marathon in South Africa, gold at six events that she took part in such as the PPC Matopos Marathon in May, J M Busha Marathon in June, Tanganda Marathon in July and Westgate Marathon in October.

Moyo took silver in the George Outeniqua Marathon in February, got gold in the Old Mutual and JM Busha marathons. He also came first in the Tanganda and Chitungwiza marathons and was also a gold medalist in the POSB and Kariba marathons in September before completing a memorable 2017 with another gold medal in the Westgate marathon in October.

The Zimbabwe rugby national team were gold medal winners at the Kwese 7s tournament in April and won the Maseru Sevens tournament in October and settled for silver at the Africa Gold Cup in October that saw them qualifying for the World Cup Sevens Series.

Source link